08/05/2011, 12:50

Germany have snatched the final spot in this year’s Speedway World Cup after winning the qualification round at Landshut on Saturday.

The Germans will meet Denmark, Sweden and Australia at Vojens in Event One on July 9 after scoring 47 points to trounce the United States, Finland and the Ukraine on home shale.

Former Coventry star Martin Smolinski was their star on 14 points and was beaten just once by Ryan Fisher in race six. Young talent Frank Facher weighed in with 11, while Poole reserve Christian Hefenbrock bagged 10.

Grand Prix star Greg Hancock helped the United States to second place on 39 points. Herbie notched 12, while Coventry racer Fisher led their scorechart on 14.

Wolves reserve riders Tyson Burmeister and Ricky Wells accrued eight and five respectively.

Finland were third on 38, with Lakeside rider Kauko Nieminen starring for them on 11. Eastbourne’s Joonas Kylmakorpi and Scunthorpe’s Tero Aarnio recorded nine apiece.

The Ukraine were fourth with 26 points. Their star man was Kirił Cukanow, who managed nine points from six outings.

Speedway Grand Prix Speedway Grand Prix