18/12/2016, 10:00

Triple world champion Nicki Pedersen has been nominated for three prizes at the Danish Motorsport Awards.

The Odense-born man, who won the Speedway European Championship series, joins Formula 1 star Kevin Magnussen, drag racing icon Stig Neergaard and motocrosser Thomas Kjer Olsen in the race for Personality of the Year.

Pedersen’s SEC win, which came the day before his season was ended by a heavy crash in Pardubice, puts him in the race for Performance of the Year, where he faces competition from the Danish Under-21 side, who won bronze in the FIM Team Speedway Under-21 World Championship.

The 39-year-old is also in the running for Speedway Rider of the Year, alongside five-time Danish champion and SGP rival Niels-Kristian Iversen, World Under-21 final star Patrick Hansen and World and European 85cc champion, 15-year-old Benjamin Basso.

Hansen, who came close to the World Under-21 rostrum, is also nominated for the Talent of the Year prize, having emerged as Denmark’s top junior prospect.

The Kjærgaard Danish FIM Speedway Grand Prix is also up for the Motorsport Event of the Year award following another fantastic night of racing at the CASA Arena Horsens on June 11.

The winners will be named in a star-studded ceremony at the MCH Messecenter in Herning on February 2.

To help favourite speedway stars carry off the prizes, vote for them online via the links below:

Personality of the Year:

Speedway Rider of the Year:

Performance of the Year:

Talent of the Year:

Motorsport Event of the Year:


Speedway Grand Prix Speedway Grand Prix