04/01/2017, 11:57

Rye House star Dave Watt put his 2016 nightmare behind him in sensational style, winning the opening round of the Australian Championship at Gillman on Wednesday.

The Townsville-born ace stormed straight through to the A Final with 13 points from his five heats – winning the first four, before being relegated to third by Justin Sedgmen and Troy Batchelor in heat 20.

But the Queenslander got his own back when it mattered most, winning the A Final ahead of Sedgmen and Batchelor, who triumphed in the B Final after scoring 10 points in the heats.

Sedgmen topped the heat scoring on 14, adding three more points in the A Final. But Watt’s victory, which came with four points, sees them share the championship lead on 17 after round one of four.

Sedgmen, who is surprisingly without a club in the UK, will fancy his chances of taking charge in round two as the series heads to his home track Mildura on Saturday.

Nick Morris is third overall on 14 after qualifying for the A Final on 13, before finishing fourth on the night to pick up an extra point.

Batchelor saw off Rohan Tungate, Max Fricke and Sam Masters in the B Final.

AUSTRALIAN CHAMPIONSHIP STANDINGS: 1= Dave Watt 17, Justin Sedgmen 17, 3 Nick Morris 14, 4 Troy Batchelor 12, 5= Sam Masters 10, Rohan Tungate 10, 7 Max Fricke 9, 8= Ty Proctor 6, Jack Holder 6, 10= Jaimon Lidsey 5, Todd Kurtz 5, Brady Kurtz 5, Josh Pickering 5, 14 Cooper Riordan 4, 15 Mason Campton 3, 16 Jordan Stewart 2.

GILLMAN HEAT SCORES: Justin Sedgmen 14, Dave Watt 13, Nick Morris 13, Sam Masters 10, Rohan Tungate 10, Troy Batchelor 10, Max Fricke 9, Ty Proctor 6, Jack Holder 6, Jaimon Lidsey 5, Todd Kurtz 5, Brady Kurtz 5, Josh Pickering 5, Cooper Riordan 4, Mason Campton 3, Jordan Stewart 2.

B Final: Batchelor, Tungate, Fricke, Masters (ret).

A Final: Watt, Sedgmen, Batchelor, Morris.


Speedway Grand Prix Speedway Grand Prix