18/04/2017, 12:00 is your guide to all the 2017 FIM Speedway Grand Prix events. Today we preview this year’s opening round – the AZTORIN Slovenian SGP in Krsko on April 29.

This is the 12th time world speedway’s elite have visited the Matije Gubca Stadium, with the series debuting here in 2002 in a meeting won by Australian racer Ryan Sullivan.

SGP legends Tony Rickardsson and Nicki Pedersen are the most successful stars here in Slovenia, winning in Krsko twice each.

Last year’s victor Peter Kildemand doesn’t defend his title this year after missing out on SGP qualification. And one man determined to take it will be Ljubljana-born hero Matej Zagar, whose best performance in Krsko was third place in 2005.

It’s fair to say Zagar has dominated Slovenian speedway throughout his career, having won the national championship for 14 straight seasons. A huge home crowd would love to see him carry that dominance into the nation’s biggest speedway meeting.

Krsko sits in the heart of picturesque Slovenia, just over an hour east of capital Ljubljana and a similar distance west of Croatian capital Zagreb, offering fans flying in from abroad plenty of flight options. 

Fans can also take in some of Europe’s most stunning scenery with a trip to beautiful Lake Bled, situated an hour and a half from Krsko, an absolute must for fans looking to make the most of their Slovenian speedway getaway.

Catch the opening exchanges of this year’s FIM Speedway World Championship battle in Krsko. Tickets for the AZTORIN Slovenian SGP are available online here now:


Speedway Grand Prix Speedway Grand Prix